Happy New Year!

Hello All,

Hope you had a great Christmas and New Years with friends and family.

We have had a very challenging two weeks for those who haven’t heard. While away on a pre-Christmas vacation in Florida, my Nana (Mom’s Mom) was placed in hospice. Steve and I had a great visit with her on Dec 22, however the morning of Dec 23 we got a call that things were not good. The whole family spent the day at hospice and she passed away that evening. Meanwhile, my Dad got a call that his mom was not well, the doctor anticipated that she had a couple days left, however, overnight of December 23-24 she passed away in her sleep. So needless to say this Christmas and New Years has been very difficult and very different. I miss them both so much already.

We have had two funerals in the past week. Yesterday, after returning from Nana’s burial my Dad got a call that his cousin, very good friend, and biking buddy passed away. We are in total shock, and just trying to put one foot in front of the other at this point.

On top of that I had a scan last night. I will find out the results on Friday and am (obviously) hoping for no change. I am just so scared after we have had all of these horrible events happen in such a short period. I don’t mean to complain, just wanted to update everyone on what has been going on.

I will post an update as soon as I can Friday.

Thank you for all of your support, love, and prayers.

Grandmas

April 13, 2013 – Nana and I on left, Grandma and I on right

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Lemelin Bazinet
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 10:45:45

    Oh my goodness Lynsey – I’m so, so sorry for your losses!  I can’t believe it -both Grandmas in one evening!  AND a cousin! 

    I’m at work but wanted to just send my condolences.  You’ve had so much to deal with over the last few years, it’s just not fair sometimes.  We’ll be thinking of you this week and keep you in our thoughts and prayers.  It’s so funny you wrote – I’ve been thinking about you a lot over the last couple of weeks and wondering how you are doing.  With the holidays I never got to writing you so am so glad you posted.

    Thinking of you – keeping you in our thoughts through such a difficult time.

    Stephanie, Philip and Kieran Bazinet  P Before printing this page please think about your responsibility to the environment.   

    From: lynsthefirecracker To: stephanie.lemelin@yahoo.ca Sent: Tuesday, January 5, 2016 10:33 AM Subject: [New post] Happy New Year! #yiv9244851286 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9244851286 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9244851286 a.yiv9244851286primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9244851286 a.yiv9244851286primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9244851286 a.yiv9244851286primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9244851286 a.yiv9244851286primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9244851286 WordPress.com | lynsthefirecracker posted: “Hello All,Hope you had a great Christmas and New Years with friends and family.We have had a very challenging two weeks for those who haven’t heard. While away on a pre-Christmas vacation in Florida, my Nana (Mom’s Mom) was placed in hospice. Steve an” | |

    Reply

  2. Wendy C
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 10:57:05

    Oh my gosh Lynsey… to say I’m sorry doesn’t even begin. My deepest sympathies to you and your family. It is truly amazing what fate can throw at us and expect us to rebound from. So many losses in such a short time…..breaks my heart.

    As always, thank you for your update on your family and your health. I think of you often.

    Postive vibes for your scan result this week.

    Wendy

    Reply

  3. Wakefield
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 11:08:31

    What wonderful memories you will have of your Grandmothers Lynsey … lucky girl. Prayers and hugs are with you on the next step of your journey, Sue Wakefield

    Reply

  4. Robin
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 15:26:22

    My very deepest sympathies to you, and all the family, as you are reeling from yet another blow. It seems so unfair and so overwhelming – this all at one intensity of situations and emotions. Please know, we send you loving energy every day!!
    Robin

    Reply

  5. sjd231
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 09:20:50

    So sorry to hear you lost both your grandmas so quickly. Lovely photos of them both as well, they look so happy and proud! We were really saddened here in England that (Great) Aunt Alice died so suddenly and so quickly after Aunt Peggy. And then to lose Tim too, really shocking and terribly sad for everyone. Mum showed me the eulogy you read for Aunt Alice; Janice forwarded it all the UK cousins. Lovely words and memories, it can’t have been easy to read on the day.

    I’m Mercy’s granddaughter (Judith’s daughter), and we lost her when I was 18; I still miss her but the memories are always happy. Losing Aunt Alice is the end of an era as she was the last of the Hollan siblings. They all lived such full and busy lives. I remember her from visiting here to see my Grandma and the rest of the family. She was a lovely lady (& my grandma’s favourite sister) so I will always have very fond memories of her.

    Glad your health is improving, such great news! Enjoy being back at work. Wishing you a very happy & healthy 2016. With love, Sarah x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

